I Believe In Impossible Things

10306322_10205271144126248_3228110642555945499_n

I carry this photo with me wherever I go. Not because I like to look at myself, or because I miss being 11. I carry it with me because I use it as a reminder to keep my childlike heart. Back then I was full of innocence and believed in Santa, Fairies, enchanted places, and of course magic.

When you grow up, the adults in your life tell you that fairy tales and magic aren’t real, stop daydreaming, get your head out of the clouds, buckle down and make something out of your life. For a long time, I closed my heart off and just concentrated on trying to make my parents (The Adults) happy. I went to school (hated it), tried to get good grades, tried to be the sensible person I needed to be. In doing so, I killed a large part of who I was.

Being in my 40’s I have finally come into my own. I have found myself again. I have found my childlike heart. I have my dreams back, my belief that the world is full of magic, and the belief that If you just believe, ANYTHING can happen. Alice said it best when she said, “Sometimes I believe in as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” Why is it so hard for you to believe that life can be full of magic and wonder?

I wonder sometimes how much more magic we would see if we kept our focus on imagination and wonder, like we do as children. Sadly, some of us grow up and out of it. I choose to stay in love with fairy tales, with the magical inspirations to be found in songs and movies, in books and yes, on tv. Magic is all around, if we choose to look for it.

It’s time for you to take back your childlike heart, to start dreaming big again, to run around wearing your fairy wings and pirate eye patches. I believe in you! It’s time you start believing in yourself!

Leave a Reply

