Living A Wanderlust Life

toddler

I once met a 65 year old Irish man who, 10 years earlier, had decided to embark on the backpacking trip he had never taken in his youth. He was one of the most enlightened people I have ever met.

Did you know Hinduism actually promotes running away. It says that after 20 years of societal obligations, it is now time to withdraw from society, and seek the true meaning of life. And that this requires a pilgrimage out into the world or into nature.Houston Smith says, “Must the human spirit be indentured to society forever? The time has come to begin ones true adult education, to discover who one is and what life is about.”

I’ve moved around a lot in my life. I’m a wanderer, a searcher, I have wanderlust in my blood. It is who I am, and I am okay with that.
I love starting over. When I moved to Hawaii many years ago, I had no job, no place to live, and $500 in my pocket. That was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Everything worked out. Within 3 days, I had a job and found a place to live. It was the best experience of my life.
People always say to me, “Damn Julie, I could NEVER do that. Just up and move with no plan, I can’t do change like that, you’re brave.” Change is good, I love change. Change reminds me that I am alive, and I am on the path of discovering who I am as a witch, an herbalist, an apothecarist, a woman, Hell, even who I am as a human being.

I have learned that playing it safe, never gets you the results that you seek and desire. Who told you that you need to play it safe?
So, I’m asking you…What are you afraid of? What is stopping you from doing the things that you love? The ONLY thing standing in your way, is YOU….

Leave a Reply

